Ray Dashboard Setup on Windows

Issue with Ray Dashboard Setup on Windows

Prometheus

Hiya guys, I am new to Ray and facing an issue with the Ray Dashboard. For context, running systeminfo

OS Name:                   Microsoft Windows 11 Pro
OS Version:                10.0.22621 N/A Build 22621
System Type:               x64-based PC
Processor(s):              Intel64 Family 6 Model 165 Stepping 5 GenuineIntel ~2904 Mhz

When running the Ray Dashboard on Windows, the Prometheus and Grafana setup doesnt work the way it is detailed in the docs. The docs say that to run the dashboard, you need to run the following command:

./prometheus --config.file=/tmp/ray/session_latest/metrics/prometheus/prometheus.yml

I understand that the symbolic link /tmp/ray/session_latest points to the latest active Ray session. This doesn’t seem to work for me on win 11 (even after enabling symbolic links in my Git Bash Setup). This results in :

msg="Error loading config (--config.file=C:/Users/Shav/AppData/Local/Temp/ray/session_latest/metrics/prometheus/prometheus.yml)" file=C:\Users\Shav\AppData\Local\Temp\ray\session_latest\metrics\prometheus\prometheus.yml err="open C:/Users/Shav/AppData/Local/Temp/ray/session_latest/metrics/prometheus/prometheus.yml: The system cannot find the path specified."

To get around this symbolic link issue, if I do the following to get the latest session:

CWD=$(pwd)
cd /tmp/ray
# Get the latest folder
SESSIONLATEST=$(ls -td */ | head -1)
cd $CWD/prometheus
./prometheus --config.file=/tmp/ray/$SESSIONLATEST/metrics/prometheus/prometheus.yml

I face another issue. This setup, as well as if i create my own prometheus.yml file with the following contents:

# Prometheus config file
# my global config
global:
  scrape_interval: 2s
  evaluation_interval: 2s
# Scrape from Ray.
scrape_configs:
  - job_name: "ray"
    file_sd_configs:
      - files:
          - "C:/Users/Shav/Documents/Code/ray-prometheus/prometheus/prom_metrics_service_discovery.json"