Oscillating mean reward

How severe does this issue affect your experience of using Ray?

• High: It blocks me to complete my task.

Im a bit new to Reinforcement learning but have tried multiple on/off policies and configurations and algorithms in RLLIb - PPO, A2C, R2D2. My issue is that mean reward are fluctuating dramaticly. Becomes a bit better but then “stabalizes” with great oscillations - like its not learned a lot. Cannot figure out if the problem within the environment fomulation or just hyperparams beeing too much off.

Im basicly looking for some general guidelines if someone can help out pointing me into a direction where I can search further.

Data:
Data is a sample of “games” where each game always ends after say 100 steps +/- 5.
Data is made up of several thousand games.
Rewards happen during each episode but magnitude often greater late in the game (positive / negative) .
Rewards are most often larger (positive / negative) if there is “a lot” of timesteps inbetween “correct” actions if looking at it in retrospect.

Information is “incomplete” in the sense that one cannot know the final outcome in advance.

There is great variations between games - think of it in conceptual terms of two strong players playing each other vs. a world champion playing a newbee - and everything in between. One having an excellent start or things are a stallmate until one has a breakthrough…

Goal
Max mean reward accross all games.

Environment:
Could anything be said in general about: Should the enviroment terminate (return done) when a single game ends and then randomly select a new game to start from within environement.reset(). Or somehow play all games in sequence within each iteration.

I assume the first based on the Lunar Landing gym environment where it also redefines e.g. the surface and then creates a new “layout” on reset.