Bad inference after perfect training. What am I missing?

Hello,
so I made a mock-up problem of the real-world combinatorial optimization I have in front of me so I can check the result manually and share it publically.

The .html file of the notebook is on my github.

From the notebook, you can clearly see that the tune.run training goes well as all 3 metrics I care about are rising: episode_reward_max, episode_reward_mean, episode_reward_min. However, when I want to make an inference (cell 45) with compute_single_action or compute_action, I am getting very low rewards, even though I do the checkpointing… It looks like random, but I really need the very best possible solution to be returned.

Also note that I am new to the RLlib and Ray in general so that I might be missing something “obvious” :slight_smile:

P.S. I am aware of this issue and related topics here on discuss, but playing with unsquash_action and clip_action did not help :confused:. This was already told to me on the slack channel.

How severe does this issue affect your experience of using Ray?

• High: It blocks me from completing my task.

Hey @vlainic ,

I can’t say for sure, but here are a couple of things that I find worth looking at:

• Your write that you checkpoint only at the end of training in cell 43, but the code before looks like you checkpoint at the most promising Trainer.step(), call?

• This could already be the issue and here is why I think it could be:
      You chose one rollout worker, which makes two workers together with your driver process.