Learning curves

How severe does this issue affect your experience of using Ray?

• None: Just asking a question out of curiosity
  • [x ] Low: It annoys or frustrates me for a moment.
  • Medium: It contributes to significant difficulty to complete my task but I work arounds and get it resolved.
  • High: It blocks me to complete my task.

Hello,

I would like to ask, how can I get the learning curve of the mean reward per episode per trial in a multi-agent hyperparameter search, like on the picture I attach (taken from the MADDPG paper)?

I only get scalar quantities at the end of each trial, while what I want is the mean reward across episodes for plotting reasons, and I am not sure at all how to approach that. Am I missing some obvious functionality? I am relatively new to Ray and Multi-Agent RL so excuse my questions if it is too noob-ish.

lr curve

Hi @Constantine_Bardis,

If you are using RLlib for this, then this information will be logged for you as a TensorBoard file!

1. During your Tune run, the logdir will be printed to STDOUT:
Result logdir: <path>
  1. You can then visualize these metrics (along with others) by opening them with Tensorboard:
tensorboard --logdir <path>

Hello,

Yes I managed to run them on tensorboard once I downloaded the log files locally since I presume there is no easy support when running them in Kaggle notebooks…Many thanks for the prompt reply!

I would also like to ask, from the columns that are returned, there are some that are called “hist_stats/…”. What are these? I think I have them for each agent’s rewards accumulated

Awesome! hist_stats contains some RLlib episode metrics. You can see how hist_stats is computed here.

1 Like

Many thanks, I was actually curious as to how that hist stats were computed!