How to use Ray Tune for Stratified K-Fold Cross-validation on my binary image classification model?

Hi, this is my first time trying to use Ray Tune to tune my hyperparameters for my binary image classification model. I’ve completed training on a stratified 5-fold cross validation scheme, meaning that I have a total of five models for each fold. For each fold, I train for about 10 epochs, and based on the validation metric (F1 score), the best model for the fold is selected and that’s how I end up with 5 models.

Now, how do I perform hyperparameter tuning with the same stratified 5-fold cross validation scheme? I’ve looked everywhere for a pytorch example, but there isn’t any regarding k-fold cross validation. I’d appreciate any help, thank you so much!

Hi thanks for the question.
How are you building the datasets for each fold today?
are they static datasets or created dynamically at the start of each run?

Are the non-hp-tuning runs done using Ray Tune?

Just trying to understand the problem a bit more. Thanks.

Thanks for the reply. The dataset is a stratified 5-fold CV training, but they are fixed by setting the random seeds. Therefore, they can be viewed as a static dataset even though they’re “random”. I’m not really sure what you mean about “non-hp-tuning runs”, I haven’t used ray tune in any way yet. Any help would be appreciated, thanks!

Cool. This is exactly what I was curious about.
Which framework did you use for your 5-fold CV run then? Is it SciKitLearn?
I think before we start talking about using Tune to HP tune your job, we need to replicate your single run job using Ray Library somehow.
It could be through Ray AIR Trainers,
https://docs.ray.io/en/latest/train/api/api.html
Or it could be a single trainable function that AIR can launch.
Once we get the single run work on Ray, we can easily adapt and make it a mulit-run tuning job.