How to create AWS Cluster on Specific VPC?

Hi, I’m new to Ray and exploring whether it can be used with some existing AWS infrastructure. The broad view of what I’m trying to do is set up a cluster that can connect to an existing EFS drive. This EFS is located on one of two VPCs in my account. This particular VPC has several public and private subnets for each of the availability zones within us-west-2, but I can’t seem to figure out how to set up the cluster on that VPC.

My first naive attempt:

cluster_name: minimal
provider:
  type: aws
  region: us-west-2
  availability_zone: us-west-2c
  cache_stopped_nodes: False

This successfully creates the cluster, assigns a public IP address, and automatically creates a new security group, but places it on the wrong VPC.

So, I tried to define the specific subnet IDs, using the public and private subnets for us-west-2c:

provider:

available_node_types:
  ray.head.default:
    node_config:
      InstanceType: m5a.large
      SubnetIds: [subnet-USWEST2CPUBLIC, subnet-USWEST2CPRIVATE]

head_node_type: ray.head.default

This does create an EC2 instance on the correct VPC, in the public subnet, with an automatically generated security group, however no public IP address gets assigned and the setup times out:

Launched 1 nodes [subnet_id=subnet-USWEST2CPUBLIC]
    Launched instance i-XXX [state=pending, info=pending]
  Launched a new head node
  Fetching the new head node

<1/1> Setting up head node
  Prepared bootstrap config
  New status: waiting-for-ssh
  [1/7] Waiting for SSH to become available
    Running `uptime` as a test.
    Waiting for IP
      Not yet available, retrying in 5 seconds

From here, I tried setting up the head node with a network interface with a public facing IP (following the AWS docs for instance creation):

cluster_name: minimal

provider:

available_node_types:
  ray.head.default:
    node_config:
      InstanceType: m5a.large
      NetworkInterfaces:
        - AssociatePublicId: True