Use only specific timesteps during agent training

How severe does this issue affect your experience of using Ray?

• Low: It annoys or frustrates me for a moment.

Question

Hi, I am new to RLlib and for now I found the API a bit confusing.
As I understood from docs, trainer.train() performs single training iteration. Although during 1 training iteration it can have a batch with multiple steps from environment.

How can control what particular environment timesteps will be used during training?
More concretely, I’d like to have a system where RL agent generate actions only for specific timesteps (and trains on them), and other steps are handled in other way (e.g. manually by user).
Is there an API when I can control environment outside the RLLib and add experience manually to agent’s buffer? Should I use Offline RL for that case?

Hi Ilya!

Welcome to the RLlib discuss! This is the best place to ask questions that become searchable later. Would love to invite you to join the #rllib slack channel. Also on Tuesday we’ll have RLlib Office Hours, info pinned here in discuss. :wave:t3:

Meantime, I’ll forward your question to someone who can answer better!

Christy

1 Like

Hi @Ilya_Lasy,

As I understood from docs, trainer.train() performs single training iteration.

Yes.

Although during 1 training iteration it can have a batch with multiple steps from environment.

Yes. It makes no sense to train on single samples in ML, just as in RL.

How can control what particular environment timesteps will be used during training

Is there an API when I can control environment outside the RLLib and add experience manually to agent’s buffer? Should I use Offline RL for that case?

It sounds like you are looking to mix on- and offline-learning.
This is possible in our DQN derivatives. I propose that you actually start with DQN, since it’s a simpler algorithm and can do what what you are discribing.