Unexpected behavior when using generators with Ray Dataset

How severe does this issue affect your experience of using Ray?

• Medium: It contributes to significant difficulty to complete my task, but I can work around it.

Questions/Feedback?

Hi all, I’m a beginner using Ray, so my question may be very simple / I may be doing something really wrong.

What I’m trying to do is load a jsonlines dataset using Ray Dataset. This dataset is composed of multiple jsonline files, each with multiples lines.

At first I was just doing something like (just a snippet example, loading small jsonlines files, for demonstration purposes)

import json
from pathlib import Path

import ray
import ray.data

def load_jsonlines(filepath):
    with open(filepath, mode='rt', encoding='utf-8') as f:
        for jsonline in f:
            if jsonline.isspace():
                continue
            yield json.loads(jsonline)

def load(batch):
    for file_path in batch:
        json_iter = load_jsonlines(file_path)
        split_filename = Path(file_path).stem
        result = []
        for row in json:
           result.append({"json": row, "factory": split_filename})
        return pd.DataFrame(result)

if __name__ == "__main__":

nr_cores = 1  # int(os.getenv(NR_CORES_ENVVAR, DEFAULT_NR_CORES))
    ray.init(
        include_dashboard=True,
        dashboard_port=8265,
        num_cpus=nr_cores,
        _system_config={"automatic_object_spilling_enabled": False},
        local_mode=True
    )

dataset_filepaths = ["../data/test/a.jsonlines", "../data/test/b.jsonlines"]
    ds = ray.data.from_items(dataset_filepaths).map_batches(load, zero_copy_batch=True)
    sample = ds.take(1)

and this worked, but it was consuming too much RAM as some jsonlines files are very big and loaded into memory occupy over 20 GBs of RAM.

So I wanted to switch this to generators. And to do so I had the following code (again just a snippet example loading small jsonlines files for demonstration purposes)