Tune xgboost with cross-validation?

Disclaimer: I’m new to ray and ray tune so bear with me if I miss some essentials.

I’ve looked at the examples for ray-tune directly and the xgboost_ray extension as well.

In both examples for tuning the “default” xgboost api is used and not the scikit-learn api. Am I correct in the assumption that using scikit-learn API does not work with tuning?

I so far tried this:

def tune(self, num_samples=10, max_t=10):

scheduler = ASHAScheduler(
            max_t=max_t,  # 10 training iterations
            grace_period=1,
            reduction_factor=2)

self.analysis = tune.run(
            self._train(),
            metric="mean_metric",
            mode=self.metric_mode,
            # set to 1 actor and 6 cpu per actor
            resources_per_trial=self.ray_params.get_tune_resources(),
            config=self.config,
            num_samples=num_samples,
            scheduler=scheduler)
        return self.analysis

def _train(self):

clf = RayXGBClassifier(
            objective="binary:logistic",
            use_label_encoder=False,
            # In XGBoost-Ray, n_jobs sets the number of actors
            # 1 = single machine
            n_jobs=1,
            **self.config
        )

scores = cross_val_score(clf, self.train_x, self.train_y, scoring=self.scorer, cv=5)

tune.report(mean_metric=scores.mean(), done=True)

This is part of a class that handles all the parameter inputs. Anyway if I run this by calling tune() method, it starts and just never stops and cpu usage is at 0, so nothing seems to be happening at all, also no error message.

How can I “enable” cross-validation per parameter config as I don’t want to overfit on a single split?

EDIT:
I now found an example on tune-sklearn which I can’t link here as I’m only allowed to put 2 links into my post for whatever inane reason.
I adjusted the example to my needs but I get the exact same effect, the method never completes but cpu usage is at 0.