Tune: Passing cluster configuration to ray

Hello,

I’m using Tune with PyTorch for hyperparameter tuning in a single node. I’m trying to setup a few ray cluster parameters such as “address” to “localhost” then calling “tune.Tuner()” , which I suppose will set the “–node_ip_address=” option when cluster management processes run.

I’m new to ray and in doubt if “tune.Tuner()” calls “ray.init()” under the hood (I suppose it does). If so, how can I pass cluster parameters down to ray.init(). If not, how can I set which host address to be used when running “tune.Tuner()” ?

I’m using the ray/python/ray/tune/examples/mnist_pytorch.py as my starting point.

Thanks in advance
Lucas

@Brasilino

Tune does call ray.init() under the hood if you don’t initialize it yourself. You can add a ray.init() before calling Tuner.fit() to set some custom cluster parameters!

By the way, if you’re on Ray 2.4+, you should see this in your logs:

Does this log message answer your question?

1 Like

Hello @justinvyu

It does, however I don’t see that messages in logs. Btw, I’m using ray 2.4.0.

Anyway, I added a ray.init() call before turner.fit() in the mnist_pytorch.py script trying to make ray workers to use ‘localhost’ or IP ‘127.0.0.1’ without success. Workers still use the IP from a particular workstation’s network card.

Logs are like:
[2023-04-28 13:38:26,178 I 62180 62180] core_worker.cc:215: Initializing worker at address: AA.BB.CC.DD:45357, worker ID e88f0d5b81566120ca6de321c89b289d5ef19743db7be3fdd9f74b8a, raylet 8817e95f545781e4d2079ff9017de876b28c90b709bd5c827a4bc86a

Where AA.BB.CC.DD is the workstation’s NIC IP.

So, is there a way to force a Ray Tune worker initialization to use localhost or address 127.0.0.1 ?

Thanks again,
Lucas

What are you trying to achieve? Do you want other machines to be able to connect to the machine? If so, you should start ray with ray start --head on the command line and the connect using e.g. ray.init("127.0.0.1:6379")

Hello @kai