Raylet space running out, despite having plenty of RAM

Hi, I’m new to ray, but loving it so far!
I’m a bit confused on the following issue. I’m running 3 jobs in parallel (i.e. 3 ray.remote() calls simultaneously), and getting the following warning:

(raylet) [2023-03-24 11:06:38,311 E 821713 821740] (raylet) file_system_monitor.cc:105: /tmp/ray/session_2023-03-24_11-03-06_248168_820779 is over 95% full, available space: 5726846976; capacity: 1006449913856. Object creation will fail if spilling is required.

When these warnings arise, I still have ~120GB of RAM left unused, which is more than enough for the jobs I’m running.

I’m running on an ubuntu machine with 80 cpu cores available, and defining the remote jobs with
ray.remote(num_cpus=24)

I’m assuming it’s because I’m not defining the RAM allocation for each remote call? Is Ray trying to write data to my home directory? How might I go about fixing this? Any insight would be greatly appreciated!

Update: I am getting this warning now immediately after running ray.init(), without executing any code doing any work. So it must be how I’m initializing ray, but any help would still be greatly appreciated.

@CSmyth Can you free up any crud that you might have in /tmp/. It wants to spill objects over onto disk if object store is full. You can specify in ray.init() where you want objects to be spilled to.

See if that helps.

Hi @Jules_Damji thanks for the input. It’s good to know I can explicitly set the filepath for spill-over. I will do that in the future. I restarted the server and cleared crud from the /tmp directory.

However, how can I keep object store completely in RAM, so that it doesn’t write objects to disk? Or is that the default?

One of the core benefits of Ray is its shared object store. It’s based on apache plasma, and implemented as shared-memory.