Proper workflow to read local parquet file and use it on remote worker?

Hello, Ray community

I’m new to datasets, so maybe I just didn’t have some basic idea.

I’m trying to load parquet file from the local disk and use this data on remote worker in task, as it is described in docs.
Ray version is 2.2.0.

Here is the code I’m using:

import ray
ray.init("ray://REMOTE_IP:10001") 
ray.data.read_parquet("local://file.parquet")

But suddenly I get this error:

The local scheme paths local://file.parquet are not supported in Ray Client.

What am I doing wrong? Thanks in advance for any advice!

My goal is to load LARGE (larger then memory) parquet file from local disk and use it on remote node.

1 Like

Hi @skabbit , thanks for your interest and moving the discussion onto Discourse!
Have you tried removing the local:// portion from the path? I was able to read a dummy parquet file that I have on my local disk after connecting to a Ray cluster that I started locally:

import ray
ray.init("ray://127.0.0.1:10001")
ds = ray.data.read_parquet("test.parquet")
ds
>>> Dataset(num_blocks=1, num_rows=5, schema={col1: int64, col2: string})

Let me know if the above doesn’t match your intended use case. Thanks!

Well, local:// works well with the local Ray cluster, but it doesn’t work with the remote Ray cluster as I mentioned above.

Here is the description of my case:

• I need to run task on remote cluster (this is a requirement);
  • I need to use large (larger then available memory) parquet file as training data;
  • This file is located on my local machine, but it must be used on remote node.

If I use file path without local:// ray worker just throw a error:
FileNotFoundError: ./file.parquet
And this is expected, because this file doesn’t exists on the cluster, and this is mentioned in docs as well:
If the file exists only on the local node and you run this read operation in distributed cluster, this will fail as it cannot access the file from remote node.

1 Like