Performance of algorithms

Hi, I had a question regarding the results ( mainly the performance and efficiency ) of the various algorithms available. I’m only a hobbyist programmer who has a great interest in machine learning but lacks formal education on the subject. Most of my experience is just from trial and error. When testing various algorithms on environments I’ve created, I’ve noticed that PPO seems to outperform by far when compared to IMPALA, A3C, etc. However, based on the benchmarks provided, I expected to have different results. Can someone shed some light on this? I believe that perhaps these algorithms are expected to be used with many more workers than I have available, or perhaps the hardware I have is a possible bottleneck.

For reference, I’m using an I9-9900KF and an RTX 3080, which leaves me with 15 workers. Also, I’m using WSL, which could be another bottleneck. Any help would be appreciated.

Hi!
Congrats for your system! :smiling_face_with_three_hearts:
When you talk about performance, to you measure it per wall-clock time oder under consideration of experience-efficiency?
This is where many algorithms greatly differ, depending on how you compare them.

Have you had a look at the tuned examples?

Furthermore algorithm’s performances depend on the environment.
Have a look on how A3C and IMPALA (your examples) compare.
What did you expect to be different? There is no algorithm that beats all others algorithms on all environments on all benchmarks.

To try and find out if performance of an algorithms is different, or if it’s just your hardware, try and compare them at the same number of digested samples. If they are similar in the endgame, then one algorithm is just more resource inefficient than the other.

That being sad, I have also had the experience that PPO outperformed IMPALA on a similar setup. IMPALA seems to really shine when you can provide it with lots of workers.