How to pass nested hyperparam_bounds to pb2

Hi,

I’m trying to tune a SAC agent using the pb2 scheduler. As I’m somewhat new to SAC I assumed that trying to tune the sac.DEFAULT_CONFIG[“optimization”] would be a good place to start which in turn holds three nested keys “actor_learning_rate”, “critic_learning_rate” and “entropy_learning_rate”. My code is generally inspired by your own example and looks like this:

pb2 = PB2(
        time_attr=args.criteria,
        metric="episode_reward_mean",
        mode="max",
        perturbation_interval=args.t_ready,
        quantile_fraction=args.perturb,  # copy bottom % with top %
        # Specifies the hyperparam search space
        hyperparam_bounds={
            "optimization": {
                "actor_learning_rate": [1e-4,5e-4],
                "critic_learning_rate": [1e-4,5e-4],
                "entropy_learning_rate": [1e-4,5e-4],
                },
        },
        log_config=True
    )

Any quick fixes or workarounds?

BR

Jorgen

2 Likes

Forgot to include the error:

ValueError: hyperparam_bounds values must either be a list or tuple of size 2, but got {‘actor_learning_rate’: [0.0001, 0.0005], ‘critic_learning_rate’: [0.0001, 0.0005], ‘entropy_learning_rate’: [0.0001, 0.0005]} instead

1 Like

Hi @Jorgen_Svane ,
Thanks for posting this question. Indeed this is not supported.
However, supporting it should not a big change. If I am reading code correctly, PB2 calls into PBT, which actually accepts values being dict.
Could you try removing the validation here and see if it works?
If so then we can relax the validation logic to properly include your case.

1 Like

Hi Thanks,