How to get results back from a job (production scenarios)?

How severe does this issue affect your experience of using Ray?

• Medium: It contributes to significant difficulty to complete my task, but I can work around it.

Apologies if this has been answered before. I am new to Ray, but I have searched through this forum and Github issues, and I haven’t seen an idiomatic answer for the basic workflow of submitting work and getting results back from the Ray cluster in a production scenario.

• I want to perform work on a Ray cluster
  • The work will be issued by an existing service in my backend infrastructure
  • The work will produce results
  • I need to get the results back into the service that issued the work

At first, the “Ray Client” seemed like the obvious answer: a simple Python decorator with a blocking call to obtain task results. However, I keep seeing in multiple places the Ray Client is not recommended for production scenarios, because if there is a network interruption the connection to submitted task is lost, and there is no way to reconstruct that connection. (Is this correct?). It isn’t only network disconnection, it’s any interruption, like a redeployment, or OOM event, etc.

Thus, I keep seeing that the recommended way is to submit work using the Job Submission API. This is fine and works well for my scenario, but I can’t seem to find what is considered the idiomatic way to retrieve job results back into my original service?