How does Ray handle situations in which the number of required actors exceeds the number of available CPU cores

How severe does this issue affect your experience of using Ray?

• Medium: It contributes to significant difficulty to complete my task, but I can work around it.

Hello, I have a question regarding how Ray handles tasks were the number of requested actors exceeds the number of available CPU cores. I am relatively new to multiprocessing and Ray – so I partly hope that the answer to my question is not to obvious :wink:

To give you some background information: I am implementing an Ensemble Kalman Filter algorithm in Python, which uses a simulator instead of a classic state-space model. The simulator is based on a deck which is used to initialize the simulator and control it during its operation (the simulator is third party software that I have not created nor have any influence on how it operates). That is, I need several of these simulators running at the same time with different initial conditions. Apparently, each simulator requires its own deck, but copying the one deck I have access to in order to produce multiple decks is not an option. So, I did some research and came up with multiprocessing as a possible solution. This way, I can use different cores for the different simulator objects, and since each core uses its own, separate storage I should be able to operate multiple, independent simulator objects simultaneously even though there exists only one ‘physical’ version of the deck (this is at least my assumption after spending an afternoon with concurrent processing).