How do I troubleshoot "The two structures don't have the same nested structure"?

How severe does this issue affect your experience of using Ray?

• High: It blocks me to complete my task.

Hi there. RLlib newbie here, still learning the ropes. I went through the tutorial notebook, played with it, got over some difficulties. I feel like I’m starting to get the hang of RLlib.

I was writing an experiment, and when I tried to run it, I got this error:

The two structures don't have the same nested structure.

First structure: type=Tensor str=Tensor("policy_0_wk2/obs:0", shape=(?, 3), dtype=int64)

Second structure: type=tuple str=(array([5]), array([2]), array([1]))

More specifically: Substructure "type=tuple str=(array([5]), array([2]), array([1]))" is a sequence, while substructure "type=Tensor str=Tensor("policy_0_wk2/obs:0", shape=(?, 3), dtype=int64)" is not
Entire first structure:
Entire second structure:
(., ., .)

I tried to understand why this is happening using the debugger. My thinking was: “RLlib is expecting two structures to have the same shape, and they don’t. It’s probably because I misconfigured something, and now I just need to figure out what it was. I’ll step through the code that raised the exception, look at the stack, see what the two structures are, and then probably change one of them to match the other.”

This approach did not work for me, probably because of the way that RLlib and Tensorflow are built. When I’m looking at the stack that resulted in this error, I’m not seeing any connection between it and any code that I’ve written in my experiment. I have no way of knowing which of the structures I’m responsible for.

So I have 2 questions here:

1. What is causing my current problem, and how do I fix it?
  2. When I stumble on such exceptions in the future, how can I troubleshoot them without asking for help?

Thanks for your help,
Ram Rachum.

Hi @cool-RR,