ExternalEnv in a secuential simulator running locally? And how to register the environment

Hi everyone! I’m really new in RLlib and in Ray too. I have a knowleadge in RL but I never use a library for RL before.

I’ll would try to be clear to expose my problem.
I have a simulator wich run in my PC. The simulator works in a secuential process and I can sense the state (it is composed for seven differents variables and in the future maybe more) in a sertain point of the simulation and set actuators (aply an action) in the same point to try change the next state. The interaction with the simulator is completely in Python. So untill here is all ok.

But now is were I’m lost. I would like to the simulator with the RLlib library.

It is correct if a try to connect the simulator with a ExternalEnv configuration? And if this is the way, I like to know, how to use ExternalEnv? I’m not really sure of the configuration of the ExternalEnv…

I understand that the action can be selected with get_action method and I must to register the reward with log_returns after that. Also I understand the necesity of start_episode method, but I don’t know how to configur the run method in ExternalEnv and how to register the environment to be used.

I hope that this not be a trivial question and that you can help me, thaks!

On a high level, ExternalEnv allows you to run your Env outside of RLlib remotely.
And use RLlib as a policy server.
If you need to compute an action and use it with your remote simulator, you just query RLlib with the OBS. and then you can log the reward returned for that OBS and action.
one thing to realize is that RLlib only needs those OBS and reward to optimize the policy, so you don’t need to register your environment with the RLlib server.
Have you seen the Cartpole server and client examples?

Hello @gjoliver , really thank you for your response.
I read the file that you shared and in adition the ExternalEnv configuration in Ray docs.