Error: Custom observation Space not treated correctly

Hello,

i am new to rllib and have a custom gym environment with a custom Observation Space that is essentially a list of integers (Couldve also used MultiDiscrete for this but according to docs MultiDiscrete gets One-hot encoded which I don’t want.).

So my environment’s step function returns obs, r, done, info as is usual, with obs being a list. However, when trying to access input_dict[“obs”] inside my agent ray throws an error, as ray treats the whole tuple (obs, r, done, info) as the observation instead of just obs and subsequently tries to convert it to numpy and a torch tensor. This is with the IMPALATrainer. The error looks as follows:

ray.exceptions.RayTaskError(TypeError): ray::RolloutWorker.par_iter_next_batch() (pid=2562678, ip=10.244.28.80)
  File "python/ray/_raylet.pyx", line 482, in ray._raylet.execute_task
  File "python/ray/_raylet.pyx", line 436, in ray._raylet.execute_task.function_executor
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/dist-packages/ray/util/iter.py", line 1158, in par_iter_next_batch
    batch.append(self.par_iter_next())
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/dist-packages/ray/util/iter.py", line 1152, in par_iter_next
    return next(self.local_it)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/dist-packages/ray/rllib/evaluation/rollout_worker.py", line 317, in gen_rollouts
    yield self.sample()
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/dist-packages/ray/rllib/evaluation/rollout_worker.py", line 621, in sample
    batches = [self.input_reader.next()]
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/dist-packages/ray/rllib/evaluation/sampler.py", line 94, in next
    batches = [self.get_data()]
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/dist-packages/ray/rllib/evaluation/sampler.py", line 211, in get_data
    item = next(self.rollout_provider)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/dist-packages/ray/rllib/evaluation/sampler.py", line 623, in _env_runner
    tf_sess=tf_sess,