Different trial on CPU and GPU separately?

I have access to a machine with 8 CPU cores and 1 GPU, I am wondering whether there is a way to run different trials on CPU and GPU separately? I don’t want all the trials sharing 1 GPU, and want to distribute the workload across the idling CPUs while having the GPU dedicate to a single trial at a time…

I am quite new to Ray Tune, I think this is a very simple problem but I wasn’t able to find the solution in search…

Unfortunately there isn’t great support for this yet :slight_smile: It’s going to be a bit hard to design a good API for that.

As a workaround, you can do something like this:

import filelock

def gpu_wrapper(...):

a = filelock.FileLock("/tmp/gpu.lock")
    try:
        # Makes it so that 1 trial will use the GPU at once.
        a.acquire(timeout=1)
        result = training_run(...)
    except filelock.Timeout:
        # If the lock is acquired, you can just use CPU, and disable GPU access.
        os.environ.pop("CUDA_VISIBLE_DEVICES")
        result = training_run(...)
    finally:
        # Release the lock after training is done.
        a.release()
    return result

def training_run(...):

tune.run(training_run, resources={"CPU": 1, "GPU": 0.1}
1 Like

Hi @rliaw , although this looks a bit clumsy, but it serves the purpose. Let me try that later, thanks a lot!

Okay, I got it working. Just a small note to add. I think for the following line, it works for tensorflow not for pytorch:

os.environ.pop("CUDA_VISIBLE_DEVICES")

Therefore, in order to make it work, I have to add an input parameter force_cpu in my training_run

import filelock

def gpu_wrapper(...):

a = filelock.FileLock("/tmp/gpu.lock")
    try:
        # Makes it so that 1 trial will use the GPU at once.
        a.acquire(timeout=1)
        result = training_run(..., force_cpu=False)
    except filelock.Timeout:
        # If the lock is acquired, you can just use CPU, and disable GPU access.