Connecting to remote Ray cluster on K8s

How severe does this issue affect your experience of using Ray?

• High: It blocks me to complete my task.

Problem:
Disclaimer: Literally just discovered Ray so total newbie here. Trying to see if I can use a Ray Actor as a cache that my ML pipeline can access (would prefer to use Ray instead of a cache/traditional key-value store for relative simplicity). Deployed a Ray cluster on Kubernetes via the operator (default settings); the dashboard launches fine on port 8265. I confirmed that I can access it via web browser at external-address-of-dashboard:8265 (I’m using an Ingress Controller to expose the service.)

Now I’m trying to do ray.init(address=“external-address-of-dashboard:8265”) from my local workstation and I get

2022-09-06 07:14:37,429 WARNING utils.py:1333 – Unable to connect to GCS at my-address:8265. Check that (1) Ray GCS with matching version started successfully at the specified address, and (2) there is no firewall setting preventing access.

The Ray versions are indeed the same (2.0):

from the head pod:
kubectl exec -it raycluster-autoscaler-head-fwvnn -nray – ray --version
Defaulted container “ray-head” out of: ray-head, autoscaler
ray, version 2.0.0

from my workstation:
pip show ray
Name: ray
Version: 2.0.0
Location: …/.pyenv/versions/3.10.3/lib/python3.10/site-packages

It looks like you might want to use Ray Client for this: Ray Client: Interactive Development — Ray 2.0.0

i.e. You’ll need to expose port 10001 of your head node, and then run ray.init(address="ray://external-address:10001").

If you want to test out without setting up an ingress, you can also do kubectl port-forward pod/<head-node-pod> 10001:10001 and do ray.init(address="ray://localhost:10001")

Ah - that narrowed it down some:
2022-09-06 16:02:17,613 INFO client_builder.py:247 – Passing the following kwargs to ray.init() on the server: dashboard_host
Traceback (most recent call last):